Meet the 2013 Annual Scientific Symposium Awardees

One of the highlights of the two-day Annual Scientific Review and Symposium was the bestowing of several awards.


Here are this year’s awardees…


(Left) Ethan Dmitrovsky, M.D.  At the Symposium, Dr. Waxman surprised Dr. Dmitrovsky by awarding him with the Distinguished Leadership Award in recognition of his dedication to science and to the SWCRF.


Dr. Dmitrovsky has served with distinction as an Associate Director of our Foundation. He is a physician-scientist and American Cancer Society Clinical Research Professor. He chairs the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology at the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth. Dr. Dmitrovsky’s translational research has made substantial contributions to our understanding of how to use retinoic acid and its derivatives in the treatment of leukemia, lung and other cancers. These are areas in which our Foundation has provided leadership.


Service to the cancer research community is central to his career. For instance, he serves as Chair of the Board of Scientific Counselors at the National Cancer Institute for Clinical Sciences and Epidemiology. He will continue to build on his record of service in a new position. This is as Provost and Executive Vice President at the MD Anderson Cancer Center. Because of this major responsibility, Dr. Dmitrovsky will step down as our Associate Director. The good news is that we continue to benefit from the outstanding service of Jonathan Licht, MD, who also is our Associate Director. Dr. Dmitrovsky will keep his close ties with our Foundation in the future as a member of our Institute without Walls.   


(Center) Ronald M. Evans, Ph.D., received the first Lifetime Achievement Award in Science, an award given to a scientist whose work has been at the forefront of establishing new concepts that advance our understanding of cellular processes. Dr. Evans is Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, Professor and Director of the Gene Expression Laboratory and March of Dimes Chair in Developmental and Molecular Biology at The Salk Institute for Biological Studies. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine. He has received the Lasker Award, the General Motors Cancer Research Foundation Alfred P. Sloan Medal and many other recognitions. Internationally recognized for his seminal discoveries of hormone action, including the discovery of the retinoid receptors, Dr. Evans has done ground-breaking work that has formed the basis for clinical discoveries made in the successful treatment of acute promyelocytic leukemia, an area in which our Foundation has made major contributions.


(Right) Madison Edens, who accepted the Spirit of Collaboration Award on behalf of her father, Mr. Wesley R. Edens, Co-Founder, Principal and Co-Chairman of the Board of Directors, Fortress Investment Group. This award is given annually to an individual who has truly taken a lead in humanistic causes. In addition to advising and supporting the SWCRF, Mr. Edens has had global impact—from alleviating suffering after the Haiti earthquake, creating programs that provide HIV treatment and prevention and building a hospital in a remote area of Africa.