The Samuel Waxman Cancer Research Foundation’s 40th Anniversary Awards to honor

Dr. Timothy J. Ley of Washington University Medical School with David T. Workman Memorial Award and recognize top supporters throughout its history 



Dr. Timothy J. Ley

New York, NY, March 23, 2016 – The Samuel Waxman Cancer Research Foundation (SWCRF) today announced it will celebrate the 40th anniversary of its founding at an awards presentation and reception on May 2 at the Leon and Norma Hess Center for Science and Medicine at Mount Sinai Medical Center. Dr. Timothy J. Ley, Professor of Medicine and Genetics, Division of Oncology at Washington University Medical School,  will receive the 2016 David T. Workman Memorial Award and notable SWCRF supporters will receive awards in recognition of their contributions to the foundation’s mission over the past four decades. 

“We are looking forward to the SWCRF Fortieth Anniversary Awards celebration, which will bring together many leaders from the Foundation’s scientific and philanthropic communities who have played a significant role in advancing our mission to eradicate cancer through research over the years,” said Samuel Waxman, M.D., founder and CEO of the SWCRF. “We are especially pleased to recognize the excellent work of Tim Ley with the David T. Workman Memorial Award in this benchmark year for the SWCRF.” 

The David T. Workman Memorial Award is a biennial recognition bestowed on scientists who develop novel therapies for poorly treatable cancer types.  Dr. Ley, the eighth recipient of the award, is being honored for his leadership role in developing genome sequencing as an unbiased platform to identify new molecular targets for the clinical development of more selective, non-cytotoxic treatments for patients with acute myeloid leukemia. 

The 40th Anniversary Awards program will include tributes to the SWCRF by distinguished SWCRF scientific collaborators Ethan Dmitrovsky, M.D., Provost and Executive Vice President at MD Anderson Cancer Center, and Zhu Chen, M.D., Vice Chairman of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress of the People’s Republic of China. Dr. Chen, along with Dr. Zhen-Yi Wang, Honorary Director of the Shanghai Institute of Hematology, collaborated with Dr. Waxman on a breakthrough differentiation therapy for acute promyelocytic leukemia in the late 1980s that remains the standard of treatment for the disease. 

The event will close the SWCRF’s annual scientific review and symposium, scheduled for May 1 - 2, which brings together the foundation’s international network of funded scientists to present project updates evaluated by the SWCRF Scientific Advisory Board as part of the SWCRF’s grants review process. Grantees hail from leading cancer research institutions, including Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Johns Hopkins University, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, Sheba Medical Center, the Shanghai Institute of Hematology and Weill Cornell Medical Center, among many others. 

About Timothy J. Ley, M.D.

Dr. Timothy J. Ley received his BA from Drake University, his MD degree from Washington University Medical School, and performed his internal medicine residency at Massachusetts General Hospital.  He completed fellowships in Hematology and Oncology at the NIH and at Washington University, and joined the faculty at Washington University in St. Louis in 1986.  He now holds the Lewis T. and Rosalind B. Apple Chair in Oncology, is Professor of Medicine and of Genetics at Washington University, and serves as Director of the Stem Cell Biology Section in the Department of Medicine. Ley is a past president of the American Society for Clinical Investigation, past treasurer of the American Association of Physicians, a fellow of AAAS and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a member of the National Academy of Medicine.  He was the 2012 recipient of the E. Donnall Thomas Prize from the American Society of Hematology, and the 2015 recipient of the Erasmus Hematology Prize, and the Alfred G. Knudson Prize from the National Cancer Institute for pioneering contributions in cancer genetics.  He was appointed by President Obama to the National Cancer Advisory Board in 2015.

About Samuel Waxman Cancer Research Foundation

The Samuel Waxman Cancer Research Foundation is an international organization dedicated to curing and preventing cancer. The Foundation is a pioneer in cancer research and its mission is to eradicate cancer by funding cutting-edge research that identifies and corrects abnormal gene function that causes cancer. This research is the basis for developing minimally toxic treatments for patients. Through the Foundation’s collaborative group of world-class scientists, the Institute Without Walls, investigators share information and tools to speed the pace of cancer research. Since its inception in 1976, the Samuel Waxman Cancer Research Foundation has awarded approximately $90 million to support the work of more than 200 researchers across the globe. For more information, visit:



Media Contact:

Edgar Trinidad

Director, Marketing & Communications

Samuel Waxman Cancer Research Foundation


[email protected]